Vagina Monologues 2011 Wrap-Up

Posted on Updated on

Just the facts, ma’am. Just the facts.

Money raised for the White Ribbon Campaign: $1500

Money raised for V-Day’s cause (Women’s Haiti Relief Fund): $167

Total Tickets Sold: 491

Photographs:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And finally, a note from our beloved director,  Miss Brittany Terrell (as it appeared in the program):

I was first introduced to this show during my first year at U.Va., and was lucky enough to get a part in the unique production. I had such a great experiencemy first year, I auditioned again my second year, made the cast, and made some ofthe greatest memories of my college career. My second year in the show, I playedthe part of “Miss Pat” in the “Hey Miss Pat” monologue about a Hurricane Katrinasurvivor. This monologue challenged me in a way no work ever had before. Shortly after the show, I went to New Orleans for Spring Break and I had the pleasure ofspeaking to the “Miss Pat”. Such an opportunity is a rare, rare occasion.

Eve Ensler, the author of “The Vagina Monologues” writes about real women.These are real lives and real stories and I think that is what is most unique about this show. The entire VDay Campaign is a national movement that occurs betweenthe months of January and March. “The Vagina Monologues” is put on nation-wide,and every year, all proceeds go to charity. The national VDay movement charity thisyear is the VDay Haiti Rescue Fund. 10% of the proceeds from the U.Va. production will go to this charity. The campaign asks that each theater putting on the show choose a charity of their own to give 90% of the proceeds from their event to. I personally have always felt that it is important to give back to the community thatgives so much to you. That is why this year, I decided to give 90% of our show’sproceeds to the U.Va. White Ribbon Campaign. The Campaign started last year inresponse to the violence committed against women within the University and Charlottesville communities. This year, I do not think there is any organization around Grounds that is more deserving or could make more of a difference.

I have been incredibly blessed with a unique, diverse, interesting, andintelligent group of women to have as my cast. The production of the show occursover a short, 5-week process and the characters each woman has developed within their monologues are mind-blowing. I am so impressed by each of them, and I want to take this moment to thank each one of them for all of their hard work. Ladies, you have done one helluva job. Thank you. You have made my first directorial experience so gratifying.

I also want to thank and recognize Katie Ryan from Spectrum Theater. Youhave been amazing. I cannot imagine ever being able to put on this production without your constant help and support. Thank you, Virginia Carter from Student Affairs. Your help and support with the publicity of this show has been tremendous.

Thank you, Yasminca Wilson for you insights and support. Thank you Meredith Peake and the entire White Ribbon Campaign. Thank you to all of the a Capella groups performing and all of the University and Charlottesville groups involved with Vulvapalooza in helping me succeed in expanding the movement, making this production a University and community-wide event. Lastly, thank you to my Momand Dad. You are my best friends, and I do not know what I would do with you.
ENJOY THE SHOW!

Leave a Reply

